skip to content

  Smooth Jazz Network News

Dave Koz and Friends 'Summer Horns' due June 11

May 02 2013

Saxophonist Dave Koz will release his latest album, Dave Koz and Friends: Summer Horns, on June 11, 2013 via Concord Records.  Dave is joined on the set by fellow saxophonists Mindi Abair, Gerald Albright and Richard Elliot, trumpeter Rick Braun, trombonist Brian Culbertson, guitarist/singer Jonathan Butler and singers Michael McDonald and Jeffrey Osborne.  The album was produced by guitarist and Grammy winning producer Paul Brown.  Koz admits some of his favorite bands when he was growing up were those that featured stellar horn sections like Sly & The Family Stone, Tower of Power, Chicago and Earth, Wind & Fire.  He shares, “The first album I ever bought was Back To Oakland, the 1974 recording by Tower of Power.  I’ve always been fascinated with that sound. There are few things in music that are as exciting as the energy that comes from a really tight horn section... That’s what Gerald, Richard, Mindi and I are recreating on this recording.”  The Dave Koz and Friends Summer Horns Tour 2013 featuring Koz, Abair, Albright and Elliot will kick off on June 7 in Clearwater, FL.  Check out the full list of tour dates here.

Last changed: May 02 2013 at 7:08 AM

Share on Facebook


Do you have exclusive artist news? Email us to be included in the Smooth Jazz Network® News feed.

© 2011 Smooth Jazz Network News | Privacy