skip to content

  Smooth Jazz Network News

New BWB, Maysa Albums Out Today

Jun 18 2013

Norman Brown, Kirk Whalum and Rick Braun release their new album entitled Human Nature via Heads Up/Concord Records today (June 18).  The set is the second album from the trio who first recorded together as BWB in 2002 when they released their debut album Groovin'.  On Human Nature the group pays tribute to the late Michael Jackson and his enormous body of work, including songs from the Jackson 5 era and some of Michael's biggest solo hits.  The track list features unique arrangements of songs like "Billie Jean," "Beat It," "Who's Lovin' You" and the lead single "Man In The Mirror."  Meanwhile, Baltimore native Maysa Leak has a new offering out today entitled Blue Velvet Soul via Shanachie Records.  The album features several original songs written by Maysa, plus covers of the Mariah Carey hit "I Still Believe" and "Quiet Fire," her tribute to her mentor and role model Nancy Wilson.  Longtime collaborator Jean Paul "Bluey" Maunick, of Incognito, joins Maysa on the lead single "Good Morning Sunrise."      

Last changed: Jun 18 2013 at 5:02 AM

Share on Facebook


Do you have exclusive artist news? Email us to be included in the Smooth Jazz Network® News feed.

© 2011 Smooth Jazz Network News | Privacy